ING Direct Savings Account Reviews

Does anyone know anything about ING saving account? I found it online, but I'm more than a little skeptical about it. Anyone have any ideas or tips?


Brenda from Rutledge, TN


ING Direct Savings Account Reviews

I've had an ING account for the past few years and love it. It is very easy to transfer money to my regular checking account; and the fact that it pays more interest than any local bank is wonderful. I closed my Fidelity account because the interest rate had gotten so low.


By Laine

ING Direct Savings Account Reviews

I've had 3 accounts with ING for several years. I think they're great! I have never had a problem with deposits or transfers, and I really like their higher interest rates. As mentioned in a prior post, transfers do take about 2 days to complete, so some planning ahead is required. (01/15/2007)

By tparsley

ING Direct Savings Account Reviews

I am a dissatisfied former customer of ING Direct. I found their customer service to be very poor. I never did receive a 1099 from them last year. Their interest rates are no longer competitive. HSBC online is now paying 6%. I use them and I am completely satisfied. (01/29/2007)


By Robert

ING Direct Savings Account Reviews

ING Direct is AWFUL! Their customer service reps are nasty. The company will cut your account off at the drop of a dime. Read the blogs about the horrible things this company has done to some of its customers. You can get a half a percent higher from HSBC or Emigrant Direct. Buyer beware with ING Direct. Your account may be the next one cut-off just when you need the cash. (06/26/2007)

By Huntington

ING Direct Savings Account Reviews

I've had an account with ING now for about a year and have had zero problems with them. I have transferred a ton of money out and into the account without incident and the auto withdrawal thing they have set up is great! Seriously, I am skeptical of everything online, and I am having a great time with ING. Even if their APY went down to 3.6% now, I'm still not leaving. I've heard too much negative about everyone else. Why leave a good thing?


I think all the people here complaining are employees or owners of the other banks, getting paid to make the good bank look bad so they can get your money. I can't imagine having a hard time with ING unless it's your own doing! (02/04/2008)

By K A K

ING Direct Savings Account Reviews

I have had my mortgage with them for a couple of years and in the past have had a savings with them. No problems and when needed got good customer service. (10/08/2008)

By Skye

Awful, awful service

They wouldn't let me add my wife to my savings account simply because she closed an account with them in the past. We planned on having ~ 25k in the account and they couldn't care less that they were going to lose the accounts. Very, very frustrating. (11/01/2008)

By Matt

ING Savings and Checking

Terrible service. After 5 years of being with ING I closed both my accounts after they started to charge a 2 percent withdrawal fee for international ATM withdrawals (after it had been free for the first 5 years). Also horrible customer service and yes, they require an overdraft (which I didn't want) which does allow them to pull unlimited credit reports.

Stay away from ING. They are one of the worst banks I've dealt with. (01/02/2009)

By June

ING Direct Savings Account Reviews

I have been with ING Direct for about 4 years, and I have been very satisfied with their services. I have a savings account and have had a few CDs. I have never had to talk to a representative over the phone because everything can be done right on the website and it is very simple and self explanatory. I have good credit and know how to use a computer, so perhaps if you have neither, you should try your local bank. (05/12/2009)

By john2324

ING Direct Savings Account Reviews

Do not get an ING Direct mortgage it is classed a Predatory Home Loan in Massachusetts, due to their 3% prepayment penalty! ING Direct may be a Predatory Lender in your state too. I held my loan for 3 years and did not miss a payment, upon selling my house ING took 60% of the profits as a fee without any warning, which is illegal under MA state law. I'm trying to recover the thousands ING decided to keep for themselves and I'll let you know what progress I make. (05/12/2010)

By artfuldodgertser

ING Direct Savings Account Reviews

I worked for "ING Direct USA" for close to 7 years. ING Direct is a subsidiary of ING which stands for International Netherlands Group. ING Direct USA has close to 8 million customers now. They are the fastest growing bank in the US. ING the parent company is in about 54 different countries. "ING Americas" which is another subsidiary of ING is an insurance provider and also offers retirement plans for business's to give their employees.

But to get back to ING Direct USA I would have to say it is probably the safest and easiest bank to use. ING Direct USA offers what they call Direct Banking which means you can bank online or over the phone. ING Direct doesn't have any branches scattered across the country and they don't try to sell you tons of products like other banks. Since ING Direct operates only on the phone and internet they have a very low cost business model which in turn means that they have very low over head. This allows them to give you very high interest rates with no fees compared to other banks.

Right now 12/22/2010 you can earn 1.10 percent on your money in their Orange Savings Account without a balance requirement. There are absolutely no fees at all. The way it works is you as a customer establishes a link to ING Direct from your external checking account at your current bank. Your first deposit is made on the Orange Savings Account application. You will be required to enter your checking account info and an amount to open the account.

Once you hit submit your money will be transferred in 2 business days. In the future when you want to transfer more money to ING Direct or withdraw money you can just simply transfer it back to your external checking account on the phone or over the internet. There are other great products that ING Direct offers as a Federal Savings Bank. You can use their Electric Orange Checking Account which is just like the Orange Savings Account, but it also allows you to use its bill payment features or ATM free of charge at its 35,000 locations through the AllPoint network. You can also take advantage of its very low cost mortgage. I don't work for them anymore, but whenever I see feedback that doesn't depict the bank well I always stand up for them. (12/22/2010)

By Shammy


Add your voice! Click below to comment. ThriftyFun is powered by your wisdom!

In This Article
ING Direct Reviews
ING Direct Reviews
March 3, 2011
Piggy Bank Surrounded by Money
Adding Up the Savings of a Frugal Life
Yahoo Mail
Troubleshooting Problems with Yahoo Mail
Overdrawn bank account.
Dealing With an Overdrawn Bank Account
Couple Using Online Savings Institution
Choosing the Best Online Savings Institution
Halloween Ideas!
Ask a Question
Share a Post
You are viewing the desktop version of this page: View Mobile Site
© 1997-2016 by Cumuli, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Published by . Page generated on October 21, 2016 at 4:03:53 PM on in 3 seconds. Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of ThriftyFun's Disclaimer and Privacy Policy. If you have any problems or suggestions feel free to Contact Us.
Loading Something Awesome!