Product Review: Pedi Paws


Has anyone tried the Pedi Paws nail filing for pets? When researching, I found 2 different sites. One for around 20 dollars, and another site that had different sizes, small dogs and larger dogs. They were both more expensive. Wonder what the difference is that would justify the higher price? Do they work as well as they claim?
Ad


Peggy from Cortland

Answers:

Product Review: Pedi Paws

So I read the instructions that came with it, yeah imagine that! Anyway, after following their advice I was able to trim his nails finally. He is a drama queen but after some coercion with dog treats and such (and kinda a rough start), he doesn't mind it all. It just takes a little finessing and work but it beats having to hear him whimper and cry when I have to use the nail clippers. Sorry the rest of you had trouble, but I am a satisfied customer. (11/22/2008)

By Eric, Tempe, AZ

Product Review: Pedi Paws

I watched a demonstration on one of the early morning shows. It took two people to do even a small dog and the larger dog was impossible. Both dogs had been used to being groomed. From what I saw I wouldn't buy it. (11/22/2008)

By deebomb

Product Review: Pedi Paws

I love the pedi paws trimmer. Mom got one and loved the job it did, and her dogs usually hate this. It does work. (11/22/2008)

By KimmyLynn

Product Review: Pedi Paws

I bought mine at Bed, Bath & Beyond and what a piece of junk. I tried it on my dogs and there just was NOT enough power. When the nails hit the filing band it stopped. I tried new batteries thinking that was the problem...NOPE! It just is not worth that $20. Save your money. (11/22/2008)

By druidana

Product Review: Pedi Paws

It stinks, I went through 4 sets of batteries on just 6 nails. It's so weak that when you insert the dogs nail it either slows down or stops. I'm glad I got it for nothing from a friend who works at a distribution place, I would have never paid for it. (11/22/2008)

By DAVID

Product Review: Pedi Paws

Absolute must have. My dogs freaked out every time I got near them to trim their nails. I would have to have 2 people restrain them while attempting to trim. My dogs are big and very strong. I started using the pedi paws and now that they know I am not going to hurt them, they lay pretty content. I do know that if you put the nail too far, the band will stop so you can't be super aggressive with the tool. My dogs nails are black, so really had to be careful with the old trimmers. Now that we all have the hang of this, I actually take the orange guard off and gently buff out any sharp edges. The only thing that kind of stinks is that I go through a lot of batteries. Hope this was helpful. (11/22/2008)

Ad

By cindy

Product Review: Pedi Paws

I purchased this from Walgreens, but WalMart and Petsmart carry it. You have to really be careful when ordering things off of infomercials. They usually have hidden fees or try to reel you in for something else. My next venture is to find something for cleaning their teeth. They keep eating the toothbrush, ha. (11/22/2008)

By cindy

Product Review: Pedi Paws

Like I normally do; I researched different blogs (not just 1) when deciding to purchase a new product. After reading discouraging statements about PEDI PAWS "and" PETI-CURE and still not knowing which to purchase, which is better, whether or not I'll be one of the customers who gets ripped off or one of the customers who'll get exactly what I paid for, I simply waited.


I waited because I knew eventually the product would have to appear in stores (all AS SEEN ON TV products do). So yesterday (11/22/08) I was in a Walgreens drugs store and I saw PEDI PAWS / as seen on TV (lol). It was for sale for $19.99. I grabbed it! Finally, without any scam problems to deal with. Without any communication headaches. Also, without any WORRY! That was a major plus for me.


11/23/08- I tried it on the dog, it worked great...did I say great? It worked beautifully, I am so pleased! I let my dog sniff it (like he was getting a new toy). Then I turned it on and let my dog get use to it (very LOW noise - almost non-existent it's so low). My dog laid right down and let me do his nails. I was able to do them within, if not under, 20 minutes (I really believe it was somewhere around 10). But since I didn't watch the clock I'll give it a little latitude. The product was powerful enough to file the nails without me having to worry about changing out batteries or the filing band. Which I was happy about because if you read some ads they will tell you if your dog weighs over 25 lbs you need to buy the larger product (which is usually a great deal more expensive!).

I have nothing but good things to say about this product (PEDI PAWS). I hope the person who researches blogs, as I do, will read this and be able to obtain an equally positive experience. FYI - Walgreens drug stores always maintain an "AS SEEN ON TV" shopping aisle in their stores. (11/23/2008)

By c.davis31

Product Review: Pedi Paws

My dogs would rather have the clippers, they did not like the Pedipaws. (11/23/2008)

By SHELLYZ

Product Review: Pedi Paws

Junk! As soon as you touch the dogs nails, the emery wheel will stop. Not enough power, not even close to the power needed. (11/24/2008)

By cory

Product Review: Pedi Paws

Wow, what a mixed bag of reviews. For those having problems, it is best to use this product AFTER the nails have been clipped to the proper length and then used for maintenance and cleaning up any rough edges on the nails. (11/25/2008)

By Hubey2

Product Review: Pedi Paws

I don't understand why anybody would not like this product. My dachshund let me trim all of the nails on one paw at first; then I went back later and trimmed the other four paws without any trouble. She had figured out that it would not hurt her. No, you can't put a lot of pressure on the nail but, then, you don't want to as you might go too deep into the "quick". Now that I'm able to round off her nails, she doesn't chew on them herself because they're sharp on the edges. Good product - just buy locally, not online! (11/27/2008)

Ad

By tedsmom

Product Review: Pedi Paws

I got this at Walgreens for 20 dollars and grabbed it right away, figure if it didn't work I could at least just take it back to the store. I've got a Pomeranian who absolutely loses his mind when anyone tries to trim his nails. So I was willing to try anything to deal with the crazy long, sharp claws he was developing since no one could trim them.

After baiting him with treats and praise, I got him to nervously sit in my lap and put the Pedipaws near his feet. In the end I did have to have someone else hold onto him and comfort him while I worked on his nails. For me the key was not to push down at all and just have a very gentle touch. It took me about 15 minutes to get his front paws finished, but it worked amazingly to round off the tips as well as file them to a shorter length. They're still not quite short enough, but it's a great start.

The sound of the motor really isn't too horrible, once he figured out we weren't cutting his nails and it didn't hurt, he calmed down quite a bit and seemed okay with it. The smell of the nails is a bit nasty, but overall I was really happy with the product. (11/30/2008)

By Nay

Product Review: Pedi Paws

Thanks for all the input. Negative input far outweighs the positive. I have decided to pass on Walgreens pedi-paws purchase. What did people do before the internet? (11/30/2008)

By John H.

Product Review: Pedi Paws

Don't buy. I purchased the Pedi Paws Deluxe and received it on 24 Oct. 08. I tried to use it on my beagle and the moment that I tried to touch it to my dog's nail, it stopped. I thought, what a piece of junk. I called customer service and they instructed me to return it and my money would be returned within 7-10 business days. So, that day I returned it to Pedi Paws through the Post Office with a tracking number. Pedi Paws received it on the 31st of October. I have talked to 6 customer service reps and 1 Supervisor and as of today (1 Dec. 08), I have not received my return of money. Each of them stating 7-10 business days and the issue would be escalated. Well considering the quality of the product and the extremely poor customer service, do you want to buy this? I wouldn't! (12/01/2008)

By Terry T.

Product Review: Pedi Paws

"Pooka" is absolutely right. The clear and really detailed information at Dawn's web site, all beautifully illustrated, answers all the questions! Check it out before you buy anything else. (12/01/2008)

By Skip

Product Review: Pedi Paws

DO NOT buy this piece of junk. It doesn't have the power and they charged us for stuff we didn't even want. (12/02/2008)

By Mark H.

Product Review: Pedi Paws

I bought the pedi paws dremel. I didn't like it and sent it back. It took me a month and a half to get my money bank. I had to end up contacting my bank and let them handle it. I kept getting the run around from the company's customer service. So I suggest that you not buy this product. (12/03/2008)

By Dara

Product Review: Pedi Paws

A lot of people trying to apply too much pressure to the wheel. This is designed to gently wear down the nail, not use brute force like a corded Dremel. This avoids buildup of heat and over-trimming, but still gets the job done. Taking care of a dog with very long nails will take a number of sessions, as the quick will gradually recede within the nail as they are trimmed a little more each time. One thing I would recommend is use of rechargeable C-cells; they hold up much better than alkalines for powering a motor. (12/03/2008)

By Nubo

Product Review: Pedi Paws

I went ahead and purchased one against my better judgment, just to see for myself. Stupid mistake. It slows down to a crawl if any kind of pressure is put on it. I should have just purchased a dremel like the groomer herself told me to do. What a waste! (12/04/2008)

By Lynn

Product Review: Pedi Paws

I purchased the PediPaws because of the TV ad - and what a mistake! I have a Shepard mix, it will not work on his nails. It stops spinning with just light pressure. I'm taking it back to the store where I bought it for a refund. Maybe on a tiny dog it would work, but with any little bit of pressure, it stops. I would not recommend this product. (12/04/2008)

By Kathy

Product Review: Pedi Paws

After placing my order at the very poorly designed "Pedi-Paws" website (which fails to reveal the total cost until AFTER one has entered credit card information and clicked "submit order"), I tried for two days to call the company to cancel my order. This was because the total my credit card was being charged was much more than I expected it to be (but I had no way of knowing this until it was too late). I was told both times that it was too soon to cancel the order as it wasn't yet "in the system". And yet when I checked my credit card statement online, the company had claimed a payment for the order the day after I placed it. Their people are lying to customers.

I never received a confirmation of my order at the email address I provided, either. The first notification I received, almost a week after I placed the order, was an email notice that the products had been SHIPPED. TeleBrands' failure to send notification immediately of an order received, and instead waiting until the order has shipped, is at the very least unethical. I have ordered hundreds of items online and have never had such a thing happen before.

What's worse is that I find that my single order has miraculously morphed into TWO orders, totaling almost $300. I will mark both packages REFUSED and send them back when they arrive. I have notified my credit card company, and they will dispute both charges. If this happens to you, the credit card company requests that you get a receipt from the post office to support your claim that the merchandise was indeed returned. And I will warn all of my friends never to order anything from TeleBrands! (12/04/2008)

By Mary S

Product Review: Pedi Paws

I would have to say I am amazed this product WORKS. For those of you complaining about the wheel stopping, don't push down so hard! It's not designed that way. It's designed to gradually wear away the nails so there is less pressure.

I borrowed this product from a co-worker who has a couple small dogs that hate nail trimming and all, but one, seem to tolerate the pedipaw. My dog is so wild when you touch her nails. She will cry, wiggle, bite (she is a Jack Russell), and I can actually get her to hold still without laying on her to get her nails done. She still trembles, the small motor sound frightens her, but she will sit there with her paw out anyway and let me file them down with it.

I saw these being sold at the pet shop today so I know where to get them. I decided to see how well this product worked on other animals because the woman at the pet store said that one of the employees uses it on her macaws and cockatoos. I tried it on the cat and it works okay. Cat nails in general are a bit different than dog ones. I also used it on our rabbit (worked great!) and tried it on my pair of ring neck doves (it works, but a bit slower on the thin nails, but my spastic birds let me use it on them).

I don't think really large nails (like a labs) will file away well. It will probably still work, but at a slower rate. I haven't tried a big dog yet though. (12/04/2008)

By Lark

Product Review: Pedi Paws

The Pedipaws worked great on my dog. He didn't squirm or growl like he does with a clipper. In fact, he fell asleep during the process! I bought mine at Walgreens. I highly recommend it to anyone. (12/04/2008)

By Mayri

Product Review: Pedi Paws

I don't understand why so many people have so much trouble filing their dogs' nails. Don't they read the instructions? You gotta go slow; let the dog smell the filer, then turn it on and let him hear it. After a few times you can turn it on, touch it to the dog's foot, then give him a treat. After repeating this a few times, try filing one nail--praise him lavishly and give him a treat. From there you can work your way up to all the toes on one foot, then do another whole foot. Keep praising him and giving him treats. Touch each nail lightly--there's no need to push hard against any nail. Oh, yes, and you have to talk quietly to the dog--yelling at him while you're filing his nails just makes matters worse. (12/05/2008)

By Linda

Product Review: Pedi Paws

I'm a born skeptic, but the most terrifying part of being a pet owner, to me, was clipping their nails. I'm terrified of cutting too close which makes them terrified by osmosis. And my dog hates car rides and hates getting her nails clipped, so taking her to Petsmart every 4 or 6 weeks was a nightmare. But I decided to try this. WOW, I was stunned how well it worked!


She's a smaller breed (beagle terrier mix) so maybe it works better on those than large breeds, but with lots of cookies, she weathered it great! I agree with the person who said it's worthwhile to get their nails clipped first and use it for maintenance, but I didn't and even with very long nails she was fine. And yes, do not press. All it has to do is make contact with the nail, that's it. I'm a true believer now. (12/06/2008)

By skg

Product Review: Pedi Paws

Horrible. Not worth the packaging it comes in. Great concept, and great marketing, but just poor quality, not enough power to trim a dogs nails. I purchased the Pedipaw yesterday, excited at the idea of making the nail trimming a pleasant experience for once. I have two Rottweilers, one of whom absolutely hates the nail trimming process, my vet requires 3 assistants to hold her down while nail trimming, so the idea of this item was exciting.

I have to say, after a little baiting, she didn't mind the process at all, except for the time necessary to complete the job, 45 minutes per paw! The sanding wheel will seize at the slightest pressure, which requires almost no pressure what so ever. Again, I have to commend the safety guard, but that's it. I have been eyeballing the design, just to see if I can add a more powerful motor, or convert the guard to a standard Dremel tool. I can understand the claim not to apply too much pressure, which is understandable, but Pedi paws simply falls short. I can stop the motor using my finger, it just doesn't work effectively. It's more frustrating than anything else.

My advice, DO NOT buy. It's a cheap item, but in my opinion simply doesn't work, maybe for a small cat or dog, but for my Rottweilers, it simply took too long, and was a huge disappointment. I plan to purchase a Dremel, and yes, not nearly as safe, but it will get the job done in no time, and with careful use, can be perfectly safe.(12/07/2008)

By Paul

Product Review: Pedi Paws

It is very loud and scares my dog. I have to hold him down pretty good and the slightest movement, I have to position the paw again. It is very annoying. Now it just sits in the junk box, I have just as much hassle with pedi paws that I do with a toenail clipper. The only good thing about it, if you are capable to do one nail with it, is you don't have to worry about hitting the root, lol. It files my nails pretty good! (12/07/2008)

By Lindsay

Product Review: Pedi Paws

I believe the motor is spinning the wrong way. If the animals nail gets caught in it, the animal will never want to have their feet messed with anymore. Another thing is it can't get the dew claws either. It also feels more like it's meant for a left handed person than a right handed one. (12/09/2008)

Product Review: Pedi Paws

Small toy dogs and cats, probably okay. Large breed dogs, don't bother. It will not work. (12/09/2008)

By SEAN

Product Review: Pedi Paws

The developer of this product probably had the right idea, but wound up with a terrible end result. The motor is so terribly weak that it barely even files my dog's nails - and that's after I trimmed them the conventional way! I felt like I had to be a contortionist in order to position it correctly. Mine is going right back to Fry's for a refund. Don't always believe TV demonstrations or testimonials. This is an overpriced, lousy product. (12/10/2008)

By jack

Product Review: Pedi Paws

Bought the item at CVS after reading all positive & negative reviews. Was very hesitant at first due to the number of negative comments but figured what the heck. I agree with the comments and suggestions of having your pet's nails clipped prior to using the product, as it is much better at maintaining a nail than trimming a very long one. Having said that, I had no problem using this on my three pugs (probably does work better on smaller breeds).


My dogs are terrified of getting their nails clipped & I usually have to lay on top of them to get them to stay still. They didn't mind Pedi Paws in the least. You must use a very light touch to skim the surface of the nail but I think it works great for the price. I would buy it again. (12/14/2008)

By KLM

Product Review: Pedi Paws

I was surprised at how quiet it is, but was disappointed with the wheel. Even if I barely touch the nail to the wheel, it stops. Very frustrating! I am astonished that several commenters said they have had no problems, even with their big dogs. I am going to give it another try, but I don't see what I can do any different. (12/17/2008)

By megan

Product Review: Pedi Paws

I have a small Maltese and the device worked very well. I am pleased with the product, but couldn't imagine using it on a large dog. Also, it does seem like it's made for a left handed person, but with a small dog that was manageable. I would absolutely recommend this product for people with small dogs. (12/20/2008)

By Adrienne M.

Product Review: Pedi Paws

I'd say give it a shot if you own a smaller animal and able to return it if you're not satisfied, which I will. I have a large dog and it was available at Target. His nails were a little overgrown so I was trying to start from scratch but it seems if he was already trimmed, this tool could be effective in keeping it that way. It just doesn't seem to have enough RPM to hasten larger jobs. Plus there seems to be an issue with replacement pads from what I'm reading.

I'm going to try a Dremel, they're twice the price but it includes a rechargeable battery and the feedback is pretty much all high praise even for large dogs, as they take their name seriously (Made in USA). At $50, it still seems worth it because I like the concept. (12/21/2008)

By Shawn from Buffalo

Product Review: Pedi Paws

My husband picked up PediPaws yesterday at CVS for $20. We sat the dog on the couch and filed her nails. No loud noise, she didn't mind a bit and we were very satisfied. Our dog is about 25-pounds and she has black nails. Really, after less than 15-minutes we were done with all four feet and it worked just as they said it would.


After reading the above reviews, yes, there was some dust but I could have cared less. And the grinder was fast - it only slows if you are putting too much pressure on it. I'm telling you, this really worked for us. Hope you have a similar experience. :] (12/23/2008)

By kelly

Comments

Add your voice! Click below to comment. ThriftyFun is powered by your wisdom!

Related
Categories
December 23, 2008
Guides
woman brushing a cat
Product Review: FURminator
Woman in Green Shirt Cleaning Glass with Squeege
Cleaning Sliding Glass Doors
two young African American women with curly hair
Product Review: S Curl - Curl Activator
A Garden Journal
Keeping A Garden Journal
More
🎄
Christmas Ideas!
Facebook
Pinterest
YouTube
Contests!
Newsletters
Ask a Question
Share a Post
You are viewing the desktop version of this page: View Mobile Site
© 1997-2016 by Cumuli, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Published by . Page generated on November 29, 2016 at 1:04:02 PM on 10.0.2.66 in 8 seconds. Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of ThriftyFun's Disclaimer and Privacy Policy. If you have any problems or suggestions feel free to Contact Us.
Loading Something Awesome!