Ask a QuestionHere are the questions asked by community members. Read on to see the answers provided by the ThriftyFun community or ask a new question.
Can I substitute marshmallow cream for the marshmallows?
Yes, you can. Marshmallow cream has no gelatin, so vegans can enjoy it, too.
Yes! Here is a recipe:
Wow I never knew they had Marshmallow Creme, but it looks like you can!
As a substitute for 1 cup marshmallow creme heat 16 large or 160 miniature marshmallows + 2 tsp corn syrup in the top of a double boiler.
Reference: http://www.gour … arshmallow-creme
Sounds delicious and easier than tiring to keep marshmallows on hand.
I want to substitute marshmallow creme for marshmallows. I only have a recipe for Rice Krispie treats with marshmallows. How do I substitute the marshmallow creme for the marshmallows?
Jonna from Manheim, PA
When I had a snack bar at a local flea market years ago, I made these every week for the snack bar. I used 1 jar of marshmallow creme(7oz) and I would add 3 or 4 marshmallows to it as I heated the butter and the marshmallow creme. When the marshmallows had melted, I knew it was heated enough to add the Rice Krispies. I liked them better this way because they were softer than with all marshmallows.
Harlean from Arkansas
Here is a recipe for Krispie Treats from the original site. It uses marshmallows...but at the bottom of the recipe it says:
1 jar (7 oz.) marshmallow crème can be substituted for marshmallows.
* 3 tablespoons butter or margarine
* 1 package (10 oz., about 40) regular marshmallows
* - OR -
* 4 cups miniature marshmallows
* 6 cups Rice Krispies
Rest of the recipe here:
There are a lot of other Krispie treat recipes of various types on that site too. I love mine made with some peanut butter!
I personally prefer using marshmallows...cheaper, easier to work with and always in the pantry for other things. I do mine in the micro. Reading this site makes me hungry. :-)
Bonus for using marshmallow creme instead of marshmallows is that it does not contain gelatin (marshmallows do, it is what keeps their shape), so your vegetarian friends/co-workers can enjoy your treats, too!
Unfortunately I cannot indulge in peanut butter laced Rice Krispy Treats due to a severe peanut allergy. I hope yours are well-marked giving the peanut butter ingredient as a heads up because many people don't associate peanut butter with Rice Krispy Treats so they may hastily bite into one...and if they have a peanut allergy, all bets are off and it's a race against time and a potentially fatal reaction.
In making the Rice Krispies egg surprise with creme how much of a 12oz. jar would you use? Do I need to heat it as well? Thank you.
By Shirley from Tulsa, OK