LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

Model: Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator

Manufacturer: LG

Request: How good is LG's Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator?

Cecil from Grafton, MA

Ad

Answers:

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

We have had ours since the new year and absolutely love it. Ours is a 22.4 c.f. We like it because the freezer roll out has many separate drawers in comparison to other brands. The handles that came with ours are set out a ways from the refrigerator. We like this since we have a large family and many handprints that used to show up don't now. (08/31/2006)

By Guest

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

I've had one for several months now, too. Must say I love it and haven't had any problems. (08/31/2006)

By Adam G.

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

We love our bottom freezer fridge, in fact, this is our second one, our first lasted 25 years, and was still going strong when we got our new one ( we needed a larger one). I think you'll love yours as well, much easier on the back. (08/31/2006)

By acesis

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

I have a friend that bought an LG refrigerator over a year ago and is extremely happy with it. I bought one 6 months ago and think it is the best refrigerator I have owned and I have had a a few in my lifetime. (08/31/2006)

By Poco

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

I purchased a new LG bottom freezer refrigerator 6 months ago and have had problems with frost buildup in the freezer and moisture build up in the refrigerator section. I've had their service here twice to try to fix the problem without success. Based on this experience, I would not buy another. (09/04/2006)

By Ed

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

I have the LRBC22544 model and frost develops in the back panel and stops cold air from entering the refrigerator. I can defrost it and it will work OK for about 2 months before I must defrost it again. Apparently, this is a problem with everyone that has owned one of these. Don't expect support from LG out of warranty though. Even though this is a known issue, they will not support you and refer you to the local appliance repair store in your area. I would not buy another product from LG period. (04/24/2007)

Ad

By Carl R.

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

We bought our LG bottom freezer/refrigerator about a year and a half ago. During the winter, we had to put all our frozen stuff out on the deck overnight and defrost our refrigerator, by turning off the circuit. Ice was hitting the fan and making a "whirring" sound. This helps for a while until it builds up again. I had to do it again tonight and some of my frozen stuff defrosted and I had to throw it away. The customer service support at LG told me its my fault for putting too much stuff in the freezer. They take no responsibility for their bad design. It was not a cheap refrigerator and a total waste of money. Save yourself some heartache and stay away from this manufacturer. Wonder if there's anything that can be done legally? (07/17/2007)

By Dee

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

I bought an LG fridge/bottom freezer in December 2004 and I am very happy. It does not frost, so its easy to clean. I also have other LG appliances and have not had one day's worry with them. (09/20/2007)

By Carol from RSA

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

I don't want to wish bad luck on those who have had this refrigerator for less than a year with no problems, but our first LG LRFC22750 Bottom Freezer Refrigerator also worked fine for the first 7 months with no problems. Then both latches broke off the doors, the top compartment that holds the light bulb actually fell down and hung by its wiring. It was replaced twice (screws holding it actually melted with atrocious smell presumably due to the door not sealing properly and the light heating the plastic). The door edging also cracked.

The replacement fridge was delivered at the 10 month mark. It worked fine for a month and then the freezer defrosted overnight one day. It has since done this half a dozen times. The problem appears to be due to a faulty spring although the defrost fix kit was installed as a matter of course as well. Do yourself a favour and buy the extended warranty. (10/23/2007)

By Heather

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

I have model number LSF25960

I am on my 3rd ice maker and now it has shut off. The code IF EF comes on and LG just told me to turn it off for 3 to 4 hours and it should be fine. Yea right, in the meantime my food goes bad and the refrigerator is only 8 months old. Stay away from LG. (01/31/2008)

By Wendi

LG LRFC22750 Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator

Add me to the list of those unhappy with the LG LRFC22750 Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator. The light bulb housing started smoking and burned and melted the temperature control box. The box was hanging from the control wires. I am getting some frost in the freezer, because the door does not close properly due to ice build up inside the rubber gasket. I will never buy an LG product again. Poor workmanship. (02/03/2008)

By A Fenton

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

I have filed a complaint with our State Attorney General's office. I highly recommend others who have suffered due to this company's shoddy products should contact their AT offices also. I believe a class action lawsuit is in order, and it would seem there are plenty of people who would join such a lawsuit. (02/18/2008)

By M. C. Kuhn

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

We bought our fridge from the Brick (Canada) and we've had problems from the latch breaking, the sealing coming loose, ice building up in the freezer and the plastic melting off. Luckily, we bought extended warranty and the company, Trans-Global Services have been great with us. When the technician came, he was familiar about the overheating problem and said there's a replace part that contains a thermostat for the lighting unit which will automatically shut off the light when it gets overheated. I believe Transglobal will service anywhere in Canada, if you're interested, the website is: http://www.transglobalservice.com/en/index.html

Ad

Good luck. I'm just crossing my fingers that my ice maker doesn't freeze up like some of the other owners. (05/10/2008)

By Guest

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

The LG Electronic company makes the Sears Kenmore Elite Trio as well. I have the melted bulb housing issue too on my Kenmore. I have contacted the CPSC about it now. Sears is not helpful about the repairs, and so far it's been all out of pocket. Those of us with these fridges need to work together to get a recall or our money reimbursed. (07/29/2008)

By LG french door = Sears Kenmore Elite Trio

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

I just logged a complaint against my LFC25760ST refrigerator about the light staying on an melting the housing. I bought the refrigerator in May 2007 and have previously had issues with the crisper bin drawer covers and bottom shelf bracket breaking as well. This refrigerator definitely has some quality issues and I would not recommend it.

I have LG computer monitors with no problems at all and an LG washer and dryer with no problems at all. (08/24/2008)

By Guest

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

LG has finally come out with repair to melting light lens. It requires replacement of Main Board (New Software), Light Lens/Cover. (09/03/2008)

By Repair tech

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

There is a recall on melting light. LG extended warranty to 3 years to cover repair. Sears and A and E are authorized service providers for repair (09/03/2008)

By Repair tech

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

RE: Everyone who has ice build up in the freezer. There may be a simple fix. About a year ago, I had ice build up to such an extent, that it prevented the compressor fan from turning. The repairman said it was a common problem with LG and even other brands of refrigerators.

Here's the simple fix: On the roof of the freezer (and also the refrigerator section), towards the back, there's a small (about 3in x 1in) grille bulging out. This is the cover for the temperature sensor. The sensor needs to be in the freezer compartment, resting on the grille. Instead, sometimes it is lodged inside the insulation in the roof, preventing it from taking accurate temperature readings and starting the defrost cycle. Just remove the grille, reach into the insulation and pull out the sensor. Replace the grille. Hopefully this will take care of some of the defrost problems. Best of luck. (09/09/2008)

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

We have an LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator that was purchased in Oct. 2007. Went to clean the shelf, as soon as it was put under cold water the glass shelf exploded into a million pieces, the glass flew quite a distance and was everywhere. One of us got got quite a cut. Wondering if this is a common problem. I have never seen anything like this. What an awful mess, I am still finding glass days later. (11/10/2008)

By Guest

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

Fight for great customer service. I blogged in June 2008 about the issue of my fridge light melting, nearly catching on fire. LG did do the right thing, it was very difficult but worth every hour spent on the phone. LG credited us money to the retailer where we bought the fridge. We were able to pick any fridge. We love our new Samsung. So, fight for customer service, it might pay off. LG should not be treating customers the way they are, so head up to the top. I spent at least 15 minutes on the phone in silence with a "customer service" rep because she refused to transfer my call. She said she was unwilling to transfer my call and would be letting me go. I asked her if she was hanging up on the customer and then what time she got off, because we were going to be on the phone until she transferred me higher up. We literally sat in silence for 15 min. They are stubborn and you have to be just that and more. Good luck to all of you that have been ripped by LG (12/05/2008)

By Follow up

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

I guess I was fortunate. Mine lasted almost 4yrs. I had an extended warranty that doesn't over broken plastic or the rust on my "stainless steel" freezer door. (02/10/2009)

By mglas

LG Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator Reviews

The reason the interior light stays on and melts the plastic, is due to LG not installing the thermostat that turns the light off if it gets too hot. The tech told me when they replaced one of these lights that melted, the new light has a sensor that turns the light off so it will not get too hot. He said that the light they installed at the factory also had a place for this safety device but LG did not install them. This was probably done to save LG money. (03/04/2009)

By front_end_loader

Comments

Add your voice! Click below to comment. ThriftyFun is powered by your wisdom!

Related
In This Article
LG Refrigerator
LG Refrigerator Reviews
Next >︎
Categories
June 18, 2009
Guides
Refrigerator Drip Pan Fills with Water
Refrigerator Drip Pan Fills with Water
Saving Money on a Refrigerator, A new side by side refrigerator and freezer in stainless steel.
Saving Money on a Refrigerator
View of the water line.
Flushing a Refrigerator Water Line
Refrigerator Door
Testing a Refrigerator Seal
More
🎄
Christmas Ideas!
Facebook
Pinterest
YouTube
Contests!
Newsletters
Ask a Question
Share a Post
You are viewing the desktop version of this page: View Mobile Site
© 1997-2016 by Cumuli, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Published by . Page generated on November 28, 2016 at 4:09:50 PM on 10.0.1.190 in 3 seconds. Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of ThriftyFun's Disclaimer and Privacy Policy. If you have any problems or suggestions feel free to Contact Us.
Loading Something Awesome!