Add to GuideAsk a Question
To Top

McCall's Patterns Reviews

Category Patterns
clothing pattern
McCall's patterns are one of the major sewing patterns available at your local fabric store. This is a guide about McCall's patterns reviews.
Ad

Questions

Ask a QuestionHere are the questions asked by community members. Read on to see the answers provided by the ThriftyFun community or ask a new question.

By 0 found this helpful
February 8, 2008

I've always had a problem with McCall's patterns fitting me. So, I've been reading up about it on PatternReview.com. (Pattern Review Board) and also talking to the ladies that work in my local JoAnn Fabrics and in the fabric area of Walmart. Everyone says the same thing, "McCall's patterns NEVER fit!" I've read it's because McCall's patterns have 'lots of ease'. Has this been true for you too, or am I losing my mind?

Ad

Cyinda from near Seattle

Answer Was this helpful? Yes
By guest (Guest Post)
February 8, 20080 found this helpful

I've never had any luck with McCall's either. Simplicity patterns are much better.

Reply Was this helpful? Yes
February 8, 20080 found this helpful

I've also had the same problem with McCall's. Their sizes seem to run small. Using a size larger or those patterns with 3 sizes on it helped.

Reply Was this helpful? Yes
By guest (Guest Post)
February 11, 20080 found this helpful

I have been sewing for years and it used to be that all patterns ran too large....you would have to buy a pattern smaller than what you would wear in readymade. Then they started going the other way. I don't think it is McCalls but all patterns run small. They also are not as clear in directions as they used to be.

Reply Was this helpful? Yes
Ad

By guest (Guest Post)
February 13, 20080 found this helpful

I don't notice major differences in how the various brands fit. I wear a 12 in patterns, though, and a 10 in purchased clothing. The problem I have in patterns PERIOD is that there is extra fabric at the back of the waist, above my rear end. Purchased clothes never fit me that way!

Reply Was this helpful? Yes
By guest (Guest Post)
February 15, 20080 found this helpful

There are variations within pattern lines too, depending on the style. You can check before you cut. Take a garment of a similar fabric that fits you well and measure it. Measure shoulder width, bust, waist, hips, or whatever is critical for this design. Now check those measurements against the pattern piece. This will help you select the right size and perhaps adjust the pattern.

Ad

BTW, Patternreview.com is a wonderful place for information about sewing. You can find reviews on specific patterns. They often include comments about the fit.

LRS

Reply Was this helpful? Yes
By guest (Guest Post)
September 26, 20080 found this helpful

Not had a bunch of luck with simplicity either. Ive done several costume designs, for period costume work, both from simplicity and mccalls and both have had horrid fitment. Simplicity at times even seems to forget whole sections of finishing details in the patterns and instructions, a pattern showing a gathered leg pant in both drawing and picture, yet the pattern and instructions make no accomodation to match the clothing to the picture, ending up with freakishly large leg openings, with finished edges as if they werent intended to be gathered as in the photo/drawings.

Reply Was this helpful? Yes
Ad

November 9, 20140 found this helpful

I have been sewing for over 50 years; I make all my own clothes. I have noticed recently that the patterns have such lighter print, I can't read them and the pictures of the pattern pieces are much smaller. I have 20/20 vision.

By Linda

Answer Was this helpful? Yes
Related Content
Categories
Crafts Sewing PatternsMay 29, 2013
Guides
Stained Glass
Stained Glass Patterns
Crochet Hat Patterns
Finding Crochet Hat Patterns
Pink crochet baby sweater.
Patterns for Crocheting Baby Clothing
Kwik Sew Pattern
Kwik Sew Patterns Reviews
More
📓
Back to School Ideas!
😎
Summer Ideas!
Facebook
Pinterest
YouTube
Contests!
Newsletters
Ask a Question
Share a Post
Categories
Desktop Page | View Mobile

Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Contact Us

© 1997-2017 by Cumuli, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Published by .

Generated 2017/08/22 16:13:40 in 879 msecs. ⛅️️ ⚡️
Loading Something Awesome!