When discarding to the discard pile, the card creates a meld. Can someone call rummy and pick out the cards that make up the meld or do the players wait till their turn and have to pick up the entire discard pile up to the card that makes a meld?
We always played it as follows, if a card in the discard pile could be rummied when first threw down then yes ,but if the card is down say 5 cards and it can now be played then you have to pick up all the cards on top of it as well.
The rules we played by were this. If you want all the 8's in the pile, then you have to pick up all the cards and not just the 8's. However, the last card that you have picked up has to be played. It cannot be discarded again.
Ask a QuestionHere are the questions asked by community members. Read on to see the answers provided by the ThriftyFun community or ask a new question.
When a player draws from discard pile then during same turn decides she wants more from the pile, can she pick them up or does she have to wait until the next turn?
For example: A player had drawn from discard pile up 4 cards. Then after playing a meld saw that she could use another card in discard pile further up and wanted to draw more. Is that allowed or would she have to wait til next turn? Can't find it in any Rummy rules that I've read online.
There is nothing that says you cant in the rules. It does say to avoid drawing from the discard pile as much as possible and people will guess the hand you are trying to form.
Me and my boyfriend are playing rummy. I keep getting ahead of myself thinking he's gonna throw down a rummy in the pile. Do I have to pick up cards?
Rummy rules are very basic. You are dealt your hand and you need a run of 3 cards or 3 of a kind to lay down. On each turn you either pick up one card from the draw pile or from the discard pile. You are not required to play this card if it is pick up from the discard pile on this turn but on the other hand you can not discard it again on the same turn. If you want to pick up more cards from the discard pile you can pick up as many as you want, but the last card that is picked up must be played right away. For false rummy I have never really heard of this one before or have never heard of a rule that says that if you call a false rummy that you have to pick up all the cards in the discard pile.
For the first hand where 2 sets are required, can you lay down more sets to get rid of cards? Or can each player only lay down 2 sets and then play on others sets to get rid of their cards?
True Texas Rummy is an 11 round game and the first round you are only delt 4 cards. The sets you lay down need to be in 3. Each round you will receive one more card until the last round where you receive 13 cards.
Do I have to have a card in my hand corresponding to picking up a run for putting down? Example: there are three 3 cards in the pile, I pick them up and put down the run 3,3,3 without putting another 3 from my hand. Is that within the rules?
I was asking a specific question, I know very well I can look up a webpage with all the rules on it.
No, you must have a card in your hand that forms a meld in order to pick up from discard pile.
However in your example if player discards a 3 that makes three 3's that is a rummy in which you pick out just the 3s, play them then next player starts their turn.
In Texas Rummy, can wild cards be a meld? Can a 2 be used in a run and not be used as a wild card?
Here is the Texas rummy rules to help you understand this game, It's a little different from other rummy games - turophiles2cents.files.wordpress.../