social

Rummy Rules?

April 17, 2017

When discarding to the discard pile, the card creates a meld. Can someone call rummy and pick out the cards that make up the meld or do the players wait till their turn and have to pick up the entire discard pile up to the card that makes a meld?

Advertisement

For example: discard pile has 2, 8, K, 6, Q, 4, 8, 7 and the discard played is another 8. Rummy is called by a player and is allowed to pick out each of the three 8s, leaving all other cards in between in the discard pile.

Answers

April 30, 20171 found this helpful
Best Answer

We always played it as follows, if a card in the discard pile could be rummied when first threw down then yes ,but if the card is down say 5 cards and it can now be played then you have to pick up all the cards on top of it as well.

Reply Was this helpful? 1

Bronze Post Medal for All Time! 105 Posts
July 26, 20171 found this helpful
Best Answer

The rules we played by were this. If you want all the 8's in the pile, then you have to pick up all the cards and not just the 8's. However, the last card that you have picked up has to be played. It cannot be discarded again.

Reply Was this helpful? 1
Answer this Question

4 More Questions

Ask a QuestionHere are the questions asked by community members. Read on to see the answers provided by the ThriftyFun community or ask a new question.

October 5, 2020

Me and my boyfriend are playing rummy. I keep getting ahead of myself thinking he's gonna throw down a rummy in the pile. Do I have to pick up cards?


Answers


Bronze Post Medal for All Time! 105 Posts
October 5, 20200 found this helpful
Best Answer

Rummy rules are very basic. You are dealt your hand and you need a run of 3 cards or 3 of a kind to lay down. On each turn you either pick up one card from the draw pile or from the discard pile. You are not required to play this card if it is pick up from the discard pile on this turn but on the other hand you can not discard it again on the same turn. If you want to pick up more cards from the discard pile you can pick up as many as you want, but the last card that is picked up must be played right away. For false rummy I have never really heard of this one before or have never heard of a rule that says that if you call a false rummy that you have to pick up all the cards in the discard pile.

Advertisement

Maybe this is a new rule that is not in the rule books or one that your boyfriend was taught and the one he plays by. But the rules for rummy do not have anything in them at all about false rummy or needing to pick up the pile if one is called. However, there is a rule that if one player does throw down a card that makes a rummy and you see this and it isn't your turn you can call rummy and pick up these cards. I was always taught that you need to pick up all the cards to the last card that made the rummy and then you can play them all. In some rules it does state that you just need to pick up the 3 cards that make the rummy.

Reply Was this helpful? Yes
Answer this Question

November 29, 2019

For the first hand where 2 sets are required, can you lay down more sets to get rid of cards? Or can each player only lay down 2 sets and then play on others sets to get rid of their cards?


Answers


Bronze Post Medal for All Time! 105 Posts
December 1, 20190 found this helpful
Best Answer

True Texas Rummy is an 11 round game and the first round you are only delt 4 cards. The sets you lay down need to be in 3. Each round you will receive one more card until the last round where you receive 13 cards.

Advertisement

On each round of the table during the play you are allowed to draw one card and discard 1 card. The first round you will need a set of 3 cards in a row and one discard in order to win this round.

Reply Was this helpful? Yes
Answer this Question

May 6, 2021

Do I have to have a card in my hand corresponding to picking up a run for putting down? Example: there are three 3 cards in the pile, I pick them up and put down the run 3,3,3 without putting another 3 from my hand. Is that within the rules?


Answers

Anonymous
May 7, 20210 found this helpful

I was asking a specific question, I know very well I can look up a webpage with all the rules on it.

Reply Was this helpful? Yes
Answer this Question

April 16, 2020

In Texas Rummy, can wild cards be a meld? Can a 2 be used in a run and not be used as a wild card?


Answers


Bronze Post Medal for All Time! 140 Posts
April 16, 20200 found this helpful

Here is the Texas rummy rules to help you understand this game, It's a little different from other rummy games - turophiles2cents.files.wordpress.../.../texas-rummy.pdf

Reply Was this helpful? Yes
Answer this Question
Categories
Entertainment Games Card GamesDecember 13, 2017
Pages
More
😎
Summer Ideas!
🌻
Gardening
📓
Back to School Ideas!
Facebook
Pinterest
YouTube
Instagram
Contests!
Newsletters
Ask a Question
Share a Post
Categories
Better LivingBudget & FinanceBusiness and LegalComputersConsumer AdviceCoronavirusCraftsEducationEntertainmentFood and RecipesHealth & BeautyHolidays and PartiesHome and GardenMake Your OwnOrganizingParentingPetsPhotosTravel and RecreationWeddings
Published by ThriftyFun.
Desktop Page | View Mobile
Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Generated 2022-08-02 20:28:49 in 24 secs. ⛅️️
© 1997-2022 by Cumuli, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
https://www.thriftyfun.com/Rummy-Rules-1.html