Add to GuideAsk a Question

The Difference Between Vegan and Vegetarian

Category Dieting
Vegetarians sometimes eat fish and eggs. They often eat dairy products. Vegans do not eat any animal products. This is a guide about the difference between vegan and vegetarian.
Ad

Questions

Ask a QuestionHere are the questions asked by community members. Read on to see the answers provided by the ThriftyFun community or ask a new question.

By 0 found this helpful
June 28, 2008

Can any one tell me about the difference of being vegan and vegetarian? What do they eat and what does it affect?

Aliesha

Answers

By ps (Guest Post)
June 28, 20080 found this helpful
Best Answer

No honey either.

Reply Was this helpful? Yes
June 28, 20080 found this helpful
Best Answer

Vegans eat nothing that comes from any animal. No fish, no cheese, no milk.

Reply Was this helpful? Yes
June 28, 20080 found this helpful

I'm vegetarian and not vegan because the body needs some form of Vitamin B-12 to function properly. I drink rice milk and not cow's milk because the hormones cause me to put on added weight. I eat eggs and cheese, but don't eat poultry or meat. I eat fish in place of the poultry and meat for the Vitamin B-12.

Six years ago I chose a vegetarian life style for health reasons.

Reply Was this helpful? Yes
June 28, 20080 found this helpful

In general, vegans also do not use things like leather or other products that may have animal origins, too. Complete vegans are not as common as other "vegetarians", and they are usually very careful eaters. My 16-year-old daughter is an "ovo-lacto-vegetarian", meaning she will eat eggs and drink milk and eat milk products, such as cheese, yogurt, etc. She will not eat every brand of yogurt, as many contain gelatin--which is a meat product. Gummy candies and marshmallows also contain gelatin; though marshmallow fluff does not, and there are vegetarian friendly gummies available. We also watch labels on instant soups and flavorings, such as the packets in ramen noodles, as they contain chicken fat.

Ad

The food coloring "carmine" is an insect by-product, (also called "crimson lake" or "natural red #4").

We just do a lot of label reading. It has not been difficult to help her keep meat out of her life. The rest of the family continues to eat meat, but she doesn't feel pressured to do so. The biggest thing she had to learn to adopt a vegetarian lifestyle was to be aware of her protein needs and learn how to obtain protein from alternate sources. She chose to stop eating meat at 13, and probably knows more about nutrition than most adults!

Reply Was this helpful? Yes
Read More Answers
Related Content
Categories
Food and Recipes Food Tips DietingApril 30, 2018
Guides
More
🎂
Birthday Ideas!
🌻
Gardening
Facebook
Pinterest
YouTube
Instagram
Contests!
Newsletters
Ask a Question
Share a Post
Categories
Better LivingBudget & FinanceBusiness and LegalComputersConsumer AdviceCraftsEducationEntertainmentFood and RecipesHealth & BeautyHolidays and PartiesHome and GardenMake Your OwnOrganizingParentingPetsPhotosTravel and RecreationWeddings
Desktop Page | View Mobile

Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Contact Us

© 1997-2018 by Cumuli, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Published by ThriftyFun.

Generated 2018/09/08 15:33:47 in 1 secs. ⛅️️ ⚡️
Loading Something Awesome!